Day One: Travel and Paris

What started with a determined idea one year ago that led to execution 6 months ago has led to this: Paris.

I left DFW 5 o’clock yesterday afternoon and I arrived in Paris 9:30 local time – about 2:30 AM on my body clock.

It took me a while to get my luggage and to get my bearings in Charles de Gaulle airport, but I finally made it to my hotel here in Roissy – just outside CDG. After some grief from the reception desk, I checked in, took a shower and caught a bus back to CDG so I could take the train into Paris.

Round trip RER tickets and an all day Metro pass runs about €25. I find the platform and I’m headed to Paris.

First stop: Notre Dame and St. Chappell. The train kicks you out right at Notre Dame – I climb a set of stairs and there it is. I took a ton of pictures that I’ll upload later. It’s an amazing structure. I don’t have the talent to put it into words – but it’s an incredible scene. The church. The people. The river. The scene. Just incredible.

Next stop: St. Chappell. No joy. There’s a line around the building. I’ll have to save the stain glass windows for a return trip.

From here I want to see the pyramid at the Louvre. I pull out my trusty map and head that direction. Unfortunately, I got a little confused and caught up in the scene and got lost. Once I figured out where I am and find the right metro stop, I decide to skip the Louvre and make for my next stop: the Concorde and obelisk.

Again, what a scene.

20110609-074341.jpg

This picture, again, doesn’t do it justice but I have better pics.

I make my way back to the Metro and head off towards the Arc de Triomphe.

From there it’s two metro trains to the Trocadero and Eiffel.

20110609-074556.jpg

It’s a sight to behold. I walked the full grounds. I took pictures from all angles. It’s just incredible.

I’m not sure how little sleep I got, but after only 6 hours in Paris I’m beat. I hop 2 Metro trains, the rush hour RER and my shuttle bus and I’m back in my hotel suite.

I need to find something to eat and probably hit the sack early. I’m meeting up with the GPT race tour group tomorrow and we’ll head to our hotel in Tours.

Overall, it was an incredible day and I know I haven’t scratched the surface of this magical city.

3 Comments on “Day One: Travel and Paris”

  1. Gary Williams says:

    What I really want a picture of is you in your beret. Please post, post haste.

  2. Ted says:

    I had no idea that was all in Paris, TX…

  3. Sherry says:

    Pics are great and looks like you are having a awesome time so far. Can’t wait to see the race…..


Leave a Reply

