TimeScapes

When I bought my D3100 about this time last year, I dove into digital photography headfirst.  I bought books, visited various websites and forums, reached out to professional and amateur photographers, I played with all the settings of the camera to where I think I know all the ins and outs of this camera.

Somewhere along the way, I stumbled upon this video.  What you’re about to see will simply amaze you.

Sure it’s a little long, but in it, I was introduced to the technicalities of time lapse photography.  The patience, the equipment, the locations, the art – it’s insane what the guys go though to capture these images.  Featuring a ton of talented photographers including Vincent Laforet, Carson Garner, Shawn Reeder and Tom Guilmette, the main focus was on Tom Lowe and his project.

Named the Astronomy Photographer of the Year in 2010, Tom’s work is amazing.  He’s a Gulf War veteran and has been working on his film for 2 years.

Using highly sensitive camera equipment and computer controlled dollies, pulleys, and tracks, he’s putting together an breathtaking film with some of the most incredible images you’ll ever seen.

Here’s the trailer – Rapture.

His new video just came out.

I need to get Christmas shopping out of the way first, but when I do, I’ll be preordering his film.

For more about Tom Lowe, check out his website: TimeScapes.org

Leave a Reply

